WOOLWORTHS 發揮 CENTRIC PLM™ 強大效益省下 15-20% 行政作業時間

「對於其他的多類別零售同業,我們的建議是先行釐清自己打算改換哪些流程,乃至於想要成就什麼樣的改變,決定哪些領域應該優先處理,並將相似的產品類型彼此組合搭配。」

挑戰

  • 可追溯性
  • 重複作業
  • 供應鏈能見度匱乏
  • 流程有待標準化
  • 仰賴電子郵件與 Excel
  • 過時老舊的 PDM 系統

結果

  • 行政作業時間節省 15% 到 20% 之多
  • 實作準時完成、低於預算,應用範圍甚至更加廣泛!
  • 極高的使用者採用率
  • 遠距協作
  • 成本效率
  • 能見度
  • 支持永續商業模式

Woolworths 如何開始追尋 PLM?

「為了尋找合適的 PLM,的確花了不少時間,Woolworths 乃是產品組合龐雜多元的大型零售商,必須確保系統有能力處理所有複雜的問題,以及掌握產品組合的細微差異,才能算是最恰當的選擇,」Alexander 透露。

Woolworths 之所以選用 Centric PLM™ 乃是基於許多考量因素,包含 Centric Software 具備的時尚業及零售產業專業知識、其他客戶的推薦,以及有機會藉此享有真正本地化的專案支援作業。

Alexander 也說:「我們希望合作對象也了解時尚及零售業的複雜狀況與本質,再者,我們做了不少功課,跟全球各地的零售同業進行了比較及討論,關於 Centric 是否有能力支援公司,我們獲得了非常正向的反饋意見。最後,我們對於本地的實作夥伴 Cogworks 也相當熟悉,深知他們有能力提供充分支援。」

整個團隊感同身受的影響力

「打從一開始,我們就不只是採用 PLM 系統,而是藉此重新檢視作業流程,確認當中的落差與契機,希望從中領略如何確保系統及流程運作更完善。」

Woolworths 改善專案經理 Moira Alexander 回想起公司的產品生命週期管理 (PLM) 專案,任務龐雜艱鉅,成果亦非僅限於一隅,而是同時影響眾多部門及團隊,足以推動全公司層級的轉型與升級。

與 Centric Software 合作之後,如今的 Woolworths 明確體驗了跨團隊協作大幅增加,能見度與成本效率也隨之更上層樓。身為南半球最具規模的零售事業,他們如何實作如此成效斐然的數位轉型專案?

屢次締造創舉的指標事業

Woolworths 提供獨特的多樣化產品,涵蓋食品、時尚及美妝用品、家用品及金融服務。1931 年 10 月,首家 Woolworths 在南非開普敦正式創立;Woolworths 向來以追求價值至上為傲,屢次率先推動關鍵產品上市。

「對於不了解 Woolworths 的顧客,最理想的介紹詞是這樣的:我們專門提供食品、服飾、家用品以及美妝產品。不但是南非的頂級零售事業,更懷抱著遠大夢想,秉持親切的態度,歡迎所有民眾蒞臨,」Woolworths 童裝事業總經理 Stacey-Anne Scholtz 如是說。

南非境內員工總數超過 31,000 人,整個集團在南半球計有超過 43,000 位員工,提供全方位的多樣產品組合;如此龐雜而廣泛的經營模式亦堪稱罕見。

採用 PLM 之前的各種挑戰

Woolworths 固然以悠久歷史在市場上佔有一席之地,仍然遭遇了不少的市場挑戰,是以為了因應現今高度競爭的零售業情勢,必須採用快速、靈活、精簡扼要的商業流程。在真正採用 PLM 之前,Woolworths 團隊採用多種不同的系統,分散作業且慣例各異,浪費了許多寶貴時間。

Scholtz 表示:「Woolworths 是相當大型而複雜的事業體,如何確保從概念發想開始即持續掌握產品進度,挑戰不可謂小;另外,我們也經歷了不少重複作業、白費資源的問題。」

在採用 PLM 之前,產品應該如何歸類、編碼及管理,涉及到各種複雜的問題。同時 Woolworths 更在多種產業倚重多家不同的供應商,這也增添了複雜程度,此外集團內部也尚未研擬真正標準化的品質管理標準。

尤有甚者,公司採用的產品資料管理 (PDM) 系統過時且老舊,導致了作業過度依賴電子郵件及 Excel,重複作業在所難免,更缺乏可追溯、標準化的高效率作業流程,前述種種狀況迫使 Woolworths 深切體認,落實數位轉型的時機,已經迫在眉睫。

對此 Alexander 直指:「坦白講,當時我們的 PDM 系統早就過時了;世界不斷變動,我們必須順應世界變遷,隨之改變行動,才能跟上未來的潮流。」

由於 Woolworths 事業規模龐大且複雜,選擇適合的數位轉型解決方案有賴深思熟慮,相關歷程勢必涉及一定程度的複雜狀況與難題。

重訂事業航向

Woolworth 的 PLM 實作不但準時完成、低於預算,應用範圍甚至還比原先預期的更加廣泛。由於公司規模龐大,加上業務複雜,謹慎規劃、流暢溝通、以終為始乃是成功關鍵。

「我們從 Centric 和 Cogworks 團隊獲得了許多指導,」Alexander 解釋道:「我們已經有了既存的系統,所以必須先找到既有功能的替代品,再評估自己需要哪些新增功能。我們也不會只替換一小部分的產品研發流程,全部汰舊換新之後,才能捨棄不合用的原有系統。」

確立成功的因素應歸功於一開始就先行設定好 KPI,在整個專案期間時刻留意,同時提出策略性規劃。

Alexander 表示:「我們活用 KPI,持續追蹤改進情況,包含如何提升產品利潤、提升能見度、改善追溯和追蹤關鍵路徑,以及提升人員效率等。我們決定一邊大步邁進,一邊解決每個業務單位及群組的問題。當然,有條理、分階段進行,改變才能腳踏實地完成,升級並不是轟然一聲就能全盤到位的奇幻魔法。」

Scholtz 更補充:「Centric 和 Cogworks 總讓我們感覺自己是南非境內最受重視的企業客戶,給了許許多多的建議,指導我們如何建構並落實專案。」

Alexander 進一步解釋 Woolworths 如何透過各部門的高階權限使用者 (superusers) 順利完成專案實作。

「我們在專案的設計階段,希望可以確立跨組別的代表人員,因此,每個小組都設有高階權限使用者,橫跨設計、採購、規劃及科技等領域。接下來則在作業過程裡活用疊代式方法,持續獲得各種珍貴的回饋意見。專案上線之後,我們針對個別小組逐一推動,這個階段同樣有機會進行方向的修正與微調。」

數位化及企業轉型

踏上數位轉型之旅並非僅僅是實作了新的 PLM 系統,整個歷程更在 Woolworths 內部造就了更深刻的正向影響,從而進一步改變了整體的經營方式。

「這項專案剛好成了契機,讓我們重新審視公司的營運方式,」Alexander 解釋道:「所以這絕不是單純的系統實作,而是持續改變的過程,確保我們的工作模式得以長期演進改善。」

採用新系統後,Woolworths 顯著提升投資報酬率,包含節省時間、流暢溝通及協作、消除重複作業、實現成本效率並且提升能見度。

Alexander 分享:「針對繁重龐雜的行政事務,像是建立項目、報價及確認成本估算,我們因此省下的時間絕對更為可觀。至少節省 15% 到 20% 的寶貴時間,不致遭到各種瑣事拖累工作重點。」

Centric PLM™ 協助我們更有效使用材料,簡化成本估算流程,並增進流程效率,從而提升產品獲利率達 0.2% 之多

先前的 Woolworths 乃是將本地供應商及國際供應商的成本採行不同方式分別予以計算,至於今後只要借重 Centric PLM™,就能洞察完整的供應鏈,提升能見度。

Alexander 補充說道:「今後,直接透過新系統,就可以計算出更大量的批量成本,協助我們迅速判定哪一家的報價最理想。」

Scholtz 也分享了 Centric PLM™ 為 Woolworths 帶來的進一步優勢:「其中一大好處源自於系統本身,畢竟它採用的是雲端技術,現在我們的同仁無論置身何處都能隨時存取系統。另一個重要好處在於關鍵路徑的能見度大有進步,我的確很高興看到越來越多同仁透過新系統完成跨部門協作。時至今日,所有資訊全數集中於一處,所有利害關係人員都能輕鬆存取,這也絕對減少了我們過往經歷過的某些重複作業,避免白費力氣。」

多類別零售業者不可不知

在大型、複雜的多類別零售服務業領域,Woolworths 集團的經營堪稱黃金標準,在此也提供幾項誠摯建議,專供有意採用新 PLM 系統的同業參考。

「你必須清楚自己打算改換哪些流程,乃至於想要成就什麼樣的改變,此外也要先行決定優先考量的領域是什麼,像是區分不同類別的產品,或將相似的產品類型組成群組,」Alexander 指出:「舉例來說,我們到了最後才完成美妝事業的實作,並沒有把它們併入服飾類別一同進行,因為我們不想把工作變複雜,反而搞到自己頭暈腦脹。」

他們提供的最佳建議,莫過於將最終目標銘記在心,再展開專案,並切記過程才是關鍵所在。

Alexander 總結說:「我個人的信仰是,實質的進展才是真正的重點,如無必要絕不過度苛求,完美無暇可不是變革上路的第一天就必須鎖定的目標。」

與 CENTRIC 攜手同行

「在我看來,往後的下一步,永遠都有再改進的空間,打個比方來說,潘朵拉的寶盒已經開了一條縫,接下來當然必須持續升級進步,」Alexander 說:「先前我們已經把商品銷售模組準備就緒,接下來則是針對規劃系統展開投資。PLM 專案乃是持續攜手並進的合作關係,協助我們的事業再創高峰,也確保對於使用者而言更容易上手。」

閱讀更多內容

閱讀所有參考案例

Woolworths Reduces Admin by 15-20% Thanks to Centric PLM®

Woolworths was in need of a digital transformation solution to address outdated products and teams working on different systems. After implementing Centric PLM Woolworths is experiencing transformational change across the entire business.

“Our advice for other multicategory retailers is, you need to know what processes you want to shift and what changes you want to make. Decide on your priority areas and group similar product types together.” — Moira Alexander, Manager of Improvement Projects at Woolworths

Challenges

  • Traceability
  • Duplication of work
  • Lack of supply chain visibility
  • Standardization of processes
  • Reliance on email and Excel
  • Outdated legacy PDM system

Results

  • 15–20% decrease in time spent on admin tasks
  • Implementation on time and under budget – even with a bigger scope!
  • Extremely high user adoption
  • Remote collaboration
  • Costing efficiencies
  • Visibility
  • Supporting a sustainable business model

How Did Woolworths Embark on their PLM Journey?

“The question of finding the right PLM is what took a bit of time. Woolworths is a big retailer with a complex product mix. We had to make sure that we could find the right system to be able to cater to all of the complexities and nuances across our product mix,” shares Alexander.

Woolworths selected Centric PLM for a variety of reasons including Centric Software’s expertise in fashion and retail, customer referrals and the opportunity for truly localized project support.

“We wanted someone who understood the complexity of a fashion retail business,” says Alexander. “Secondly, when we did the research and had a comparison discussion with other retailers around the world, we had very good feedback in terms of Centric’s ability to support us. And, thirdly, we were familiar with Cogworks, the local implementation partner, and knew that they could deliver and provide support.”

Making an Impact Across Teams

“From the beginning, we didn’t just put in a PLM system, we re-examined how we worked and identified gaps and opportunities, trying to understand how we could make the systems and the processes work better.”

Moira Alexander, Manager of Improvement Projects at Woolworths, reflects on the enormity of their Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) project, which impacted not one, but numerous departments and teams, driving transformational change across the entire business.

Now, after partnering with Centric Software, Woolworths is already experiencing a significant increase in crossteam collaboration, as well as increased visibility and costing efficiencies. But how did one of the biggest retailers in the Southern Hemisphere implement such a successful digital transformation project?

A Business of Firsts

Woolworths offers a unique blend of food, fashion, beauty, homeware and financial services. The first Woolworths store opened its doors to the public in Cape Town in October 1931 and Woolworths prides itself on being a values-driven organization that strives to go to market first with what matters.

“If someone does not know Woolworths I think the best way to describe it is that we are a food as well as clothing, home and beauty business. It’s a very top tier retail store within South Africa, a very aspirational, but accessible retail store,” summarizes Stacey-Anne Scholtz, General Manager of Kidswear at Woolworths.

With a team of over 31,000 people in South Africa, over 43,000 people across the Group in the Southern Hemisphere, and a comprehensive product mix, it is an understatement to say their business model is complex.

Pre-PLM Challenges

In spite of their market prominence and long history of success, Woolworths was not immune to market challenges. In today’s highly competitive retail landscape, speed, agility and streamlined business processes are a must. Before PLM, Woolworths teams were working on multiple different systems, in disparate ways, and valuable time was being lost.

Scholtz explains, “Woolworths is a large and complex organisation. The ability to trace product from concept was a challenge. We also experienced a lot of duplication in the business.”

Prior to PLM, there were too many complexities in the way products would be attributed, coded and managed. Woolworths’ many different suppliers added additional layers of complexity, and quality management was not standardized across the company.

On top of this, the business was working in an outdated legacy Product Data Management (PDM) system, resulting in an overreliance on email and Excel, duplication of work and a lack of traceability and standardized business processes. Woolworths knew it was high time for digital transformation.

“We had a PDM system that was very outdated,” says Alexander. “Lots has changed in the world, and we needed to be able to move and shift with it in order to be more future-fit.”

Given the sheer size and complexity of Woolworths, selecting the right digital transformation solution was an involved and considered process.

Turning the Ship Around

Woolworth’s PLM implementation was delivered ontime, under budget and with a larger scope that originally estimated. Because of the complexity of the business and size of the organization, careful planning, seamless communication and starting with the end in mind were the keys to success.

“We took quite a lot of steer from the Centric and Cogworks teams,” explains Alexander. “Because we had an existing system, we had to replace that functionality and then add more. We couldn’t do just a little part of the product development process, we had to do the full process so that we could take out the old system.”

Determining factors of success can be attributed to identifying KPIs from the onset, keeping them in sight throughout the project and rolling out strategically.

“The KPIs we were tracking were improvements in our product margin, improvements in our visibility and in our critical path track and trace, as well as people efficiencies,” says Alexander. “We decided to tackle each business unit and group as we went along… putting it into a structured and phased way so that we didn’t roll it out as one big bang to the whole organisation.”

Scholtz adds, “Centric and Cogworks always made us feel like we were their only clients in South Africa. They gave us a lot of input around how to structure the project and how to deliver it.”

Alexander goes on to explain how Woolworths rolled the implementation out via superusers for each department.

“When we went through the design phase of it, we tried to make sure we had a cross group representation. So, we had superusers from every group. Whether it be across design, buying or planning, or technology. And then as we went along, we got a lot of feedback because we followed an iterative approach. When we went live, we took it group by group, which again gave us the opportunity to course correct.”

Digitalization and Business Transformation

The process of embarking on a digital transformation journey impacted Woolworths in a much deeper way than solely implementing a PLM system. Their entire way of doing business evolved as a result.

“This project was an opportunity to re-look at how everything was done in the business.” explains Alexander. “So, it was not just a system implementation. It was very much a process, a way of working which continues to evolve.”

Woolworths has realized significant ROI since the rollout in terms of time saved, communication and collaboration, removing duplication of work, cost-efficiencies and increased visibility.

“We saw definite time savings in terms of the admin intensive tasks such as creating items, doing quotes and finalizing costings. You’ve seen at least a 15-20% reduction in time on some of those elements,” shares Alexander.

Centric PLM has enabled us to utilise our materials more effectively, streamline our costing process and increase process efficiencies, resulting in a 0.2% increase in product profitability.

Previously, Woolworths used to cost one way for their local suppliers and another for international suppliers. Centric PLM has now given them the ability to have visibility across the entire supply chain.

“We’re now doing a lot more of our bigger volume costings through the system, enabling us to make decisions on who is giving the best price,” Alexander adds.

Scholtz shares a few additional benefits Centric PLM has brought to Woolworths, “One benefit is the fact that the system is cloud-based and we are able to access it now, regardless of where we are at. Another benefit that’s been very good is the visibility of the critical path. I certainly do enjoy the fact that there’s more collaboration happening on the systems. Information is now housed in one central place, which gives access to all the stakeholders and is definitely eliminating some of the duplication of work which we have experienced in the past.”

Advice for Multicategory Retailers

Woolworths is the gold standard when it comes to the large, complex, multicategory retail space and they offer some words of advice to others looking to adopt a new PLM system.

“You need to know what processes you want to shift and what changes you want to make. You need to decide on your priority areas that you want to focus on in terms of the categories or the product types and group similar product types together,” advises Alexander. “For example, we did our beauty implementation at the end. We didn’t try to confuse ourselves by throwing the complexity of a beauty business in while we were doing apparel.”

The best advice they have to offer is to start the project with an end goal in mind and understand that progress is the key.

“My mantra is that’s it’s progress, not perfection,” Alexander confides. “You can’t aim for perfection on day one.”

The Journey Continues with Centric

“I think what’s next is there’s always improvement. So, we’ve opened a bit of Pandora’s box, there will be continuous upgrades.” shares Alexander. “We did put in place the Merchandising Module and we are now starting to look at doing investments in our planning systems. The PLM project is a continued relationship of how we can reach new heights and make things simpler for our users.”

Read More

View all references