Guess 採用 Centric Planning,走出疫情衝擊拓展更茁壯事業

Guess 品牌成立於 40 多年前,從丹寧牛仔服飾起家,逐漸發展成為全球性生活風格知名品牌,在世界各地共有 1,600 多個銷售據點,主打男、女性和兒童服飾與配件。

新冠疫情之前,2020 會計年度的營業利潤率為 5.6%,去年底則一口氣增為 12%,這樣的獲利進展真的很驚人!... 萬一當時的庫存過多,就無法締造如此亮眼的成果。採用了 Centric Planning 後,我們得以落實相關策略,並且顯著提升獲利能力。 — Daniel Botey, Guess Europe Sagl 全球庫存管理副總裁

挑戰

  • 繁多的地理區域、產品組合與經銷通路
  • 降價促銷幅度過大
  • 供應鏈中斷以及成本提高,導致產品利潤率惡化
  • 公司團隊壓力沉重、士氣低落
  • 通路之間的產品調度緩慢且欠缺效率

結果

  • 依各國狀況家調整計畫,產品陣容更加符合當地需求與各地市場趨勢
  • 營業利潤率從 5.6% 成長一倍,躍升至 12%
  • 零售規劃時程從 1 個月縮短至 1 週
  • 提升敏捷度與應變彈性,改善客戶服務
  • 產品資訊均有單一資料來源,可供隨時隨地取得
  • 汰除原先繁複磨人的工作流程與工具,進而順利留任人才

「這個解決方案徹底改變了所有同仁的日常。」對於充分支援全通路零售與批發規劃最佳實務的 Centric Planning 創新雲端原生方案,Guess Europe Sagl 的全球庫存管理副總裁 Daniel Botey 讚譽有加。

其實早在新冠疫情爆發之前,知名服飾與配件品牌 Guess 即已開始思考今後如何轉型為新世代規劃方案。身為譽滿全球的旗艦品牌,Guess 坐擁著龐大的零售與批發事業,以及複雜多元的產品線;過去只能以試算表克難管理成千的產品與 SKU,此外,還遭遇了生產前置時間漫長、採購人員需求難以因應等問題。而後,疫情帶來各種突發性變化,以及各地持續展開的封城管制,更使得公司團隊深感挫折、壓力沉重。然而最大的問題,莫過於消費者很多時候無法在實體或線上店面順利找到需要的產品。大大小小的零售業者平時所經歷的檯面下困境,在情勢不穩之際顯得更加混亂,相關影響甚至持續至今。那麼,Guess 究竟如何走出疫情,成為展翅翱翔的浴火鳳凰?

混亂時局裡的果敢步伐

Guess 在新冠疫情前夕,業已規劃推出新的營業利潤提振策略,訴求在於提升品牌品質、減少促銷活動、快速因應市場變局與中斷,以及最重要的 — 落實消費者為首要核心的理念。一切規劃完備之後,就只欠完善的科技平台來達成目標了;

奈何新冠疫情卻在此刻爆發,各地的辦公據點紛紛關閉,協作難以落實,先前的規劃面臨更為嚴峻的挑戰。此外,由於世界各地的封城與解封步調不同,因此銷售預估也呈現了大幅的波動起伏。對此 Botey 先生感觸良多:「老實說,我從未面臨過如此巨大的挑戰,大家都感到非常艱困。我有一次跟執行長 Carlos Alberini 提起,希望他可以支持我們繼續執行先前因為疫情而延宕的專案。」

當時全世界都無法預期未來狀況的發展,各個企業也理所當然的採取謹慎態度;所幸 Guess 並未失去高瞻遠矚的精神,在動盪期間依然堅定步伐。Botey 先生更指出:「對此,Carlos 全心支持也充分理解,當時的情況之下,我們對於理想工具的需求格外迫切。因此,我們在第一次封城期間,就開始重新啟動相關專案。」

Guess 跨出了堅信不移的第一步,並且締造了十分亮眼的佳績。「新冠疫情之前,2020 會計年度的營業利潤率為 5.6%,去年底則一口氣增為 12%,獲利堪稱大幅改善!」 對此 Botey 先生透過圖表予以說明:「您可以看到,單單減少促銷活動,就足以帶動 250 個基點的增幅。」 確實,營業利潤率的成長可以歸功於公司堅定執行疫情前夕所規劃的策略,不過 Botey 也指出「萬一當時庫存過多,只怕也無法達成這樣的績效。採用了 Centric Planning 後,我們得以落實相關策略,並且顯著提升獲利能力。」

堅守消費客群本位觀點:正確的時機、正確的地點,推出正確的產品

Guess 計有 25 大產品類別,廣泛銷售至全球 100 多個國家,世界各地的直營門市約有 1000 家,若加上其他銷售據點則共有 1600 處店面與專櫃。營運採全通路模式,透過電子商務、零售以及批發等多個據點展售,其中批發業務在歐洲又格外重要,全歐各地約有 4,000 家批發客戶。

過去 Guess 只能屈就於 Excel 表格來管理採購與銷售。Botey 表示:「公司事業遍及全歐約 30 個國家,採購人員提供的 Excel 格式都不盡相同,內容僅列出產品需求清單,以及該國或市場當中不那麼重要的其他產品。結果造成了非常大的困擾,畢竟對於採購人員而言,彙整資訊並且顧及各個市場需求十分耗費時間,對於這邊的採買同仁來說也是如此。」

當時的公司團隊不得不處理著非常龐雜的試算表。Botey 先生解釋:「我們每個系列均有 8,000 筆 SKU,每年共計推出 4 個不同系列。如此一來團隊必須分頭工作,並且依據產品類別進行資訊登錄歸檔,畢竟當時我們沒辦法集中管理所有的 SKU。除了各式各樣的 Excel 試算表之外,表格之間也沒有適當的連結或同步,因此每個人都宛如瞎子摸象一般,只能處理整體業務的某個小環節。而這只是規劃面的問題。主管團隊以及關鍵的經營執行高層還必須全面掌握情況,奈何既有的流程難以實現這樣的目標。顯而易見的是,依賴舊式試算表的管理方案,無法應付營運的複雜度與資訊量。」

Botey 先生更指出:「我們需要適當的規劃工具,統整所有資訊,並針對相同狀況廣納另類觀點與視野。我們面對的是不同的貨幣、客戶偏好,以及因國家而異的趨勢潮流。而且除了地理區域之間的變異,還有各種產品組合與眾多的 SKU,因此規劃同仁的工作十分艱鉅。」

最後,Guess 決定採行了關鍵措施,規劃出深具雄心的新模型,提升營業利潤率,並且從四大層面切入:產品成本、品牌提升、佔有率與營運效率。為了達成目標,Guess 努力在市場中斷之際加速因應與處置,並且將高端產品陣容移回境內,依據流動庫存管理設法減少過多存貨與折扣,進而提高獲利率。

科技的一臂之助

由於門市的暫時性關閉與重啟,公司團隊無法執行原先的預測規劃;再加上系統過於老舊,因此電子商務開始蓬勃發展後,通路之間卻無法順利調度存貨。

採用 Centric Planning 之前,公司的規劃人員與團隊都感到不勝負荷、疲憊不堪,隨時都可能崩潰。Botey 先生回想:「團隊中的某些同仁必須耗費很長的時間處理 Excel 表格,無暇進行分析工作或制訂決策,感到十分無奈。後來,我們請這些成員參與新工具的規劃,他們一看到專案任務目標,都很積極的全心投入。如今他們成為專案規劃的中堅,操作工具更是得心應手,雀躍不已。」

供應鏈挑戰持續發酵

疫情期間的供應鏈挑戰,帶來了更大的隱憂。Botey 先生表示:「我們的採購時程因此而縮短,供應鏈團隊要求我們提前送出採購訂單,才有更多時間進行生產與運送。關於這一點,萬一沒有 Centric Planning 幫忙,我們根本無法達成任務。它能確保我們即時將產品送往合適的通路,對於我們來說這點非常重要。此外,使用者的回饋都非常正面,大家都很喜歡新工具,使用起來更是相當直觀。」

Botey 先生又說:「時至今日,疫情尚未完全退散,門市的人流與銷售受到很大的影響,反觀電子商務的部分,則大有斬獲。有了 Centric Planning 管理方案,我們得以順利將存貨從實體店面調送至線上據點。」

Botey 先生也指出,過去季末拍賣主要是為了清空庫存,為下一季預做準備。「但是這對於營業利潤率有很大的 (負面) 影響。有了 Centric Planning,我們就能合理縮限促銷活動,進而提升利益率。」

關於這一點,萬一沒有 Centric Planning 幫忙,我們根本無法達成任務。它能確保我們即時將產品送往合適的通路,對於我們來說這點非常重要。此外,使用者的回饋都非常正面,大家都很喜歡新工具,使用起來更是相當直觀。

Guess 新策略確保各方一致受惠

規劃專案的宗旨是否在於減少規劃時間與工作負荷?Botey 先生回答:「我們的目標是策略性的,也就是配合客戶的需求,並且快速因應市場中斷狀況。」緊接著 Botey 又補充:「當然,規劃工具實作之後的各種效益,對我們來說非常受用,例如手動工作負荷就顯著減輕,此外規劃時間也大幅縮短,以前得花上一個月,現在只要一週。」其他優勢還包括了簡便的更新操作、產品組合規劃與銷售計畫等,各地的主管都能直接進入方案當中選取所需的產品系列。

員工滿意度更是不容忽視的優點。Botey 先生透露:「現在員工的心情比以前好多了,因為我們排解了他們肩頭上的壓力。大家都知道,現代員工頻頻跳槽乃是常事,如果有辦法打造出快樂的職場團隊,同仁自然會更投入、更有動力。這一點就跟提升財務績效同樣重要。此外,消費者也相當滿意,由於我們的資訊能見度與敏捷度都提高了,因此他們也得以順利在店裡或線上找到需要的產品。」

Guess 將個區域的產品開發彙整至單一產線,進而改善了生產成本。Botey 表示:「這項措施帶動了生產效率的提升。重要的是,如果沒有規劃系統,這種種的成果便難以達成。」

對於 Centric 團隊,Botey 先生多所肯定:「他們不僅是軟體供應商,更是專案規劃的專家,深知我們的需求。他們的專案管理非常流暢,一開始就能感受到雙方絕對能夠建立良好的夥伴關係。」

客戶導向的創新

Centric 的運作乃是以客戶為導向,因此解決方案也獲得了 Guess 的認證。Botey 先生解釋說:「專案執行期間,我們發現新工具也可以處理初始配置作業。因此 Centric 和我們的規劃團隊設定了新的配置模組,將各種需求加以整合,省略了原先透過其他程式執行的步驟,進而提升工作流程的效率。」

正確的策略、適當的人力、良好決策的堅持,再加上對的工具,乃是 Guess 得以在同業坐困愁城時,突破逆境、大展鴻圖的關鍵。即使面臨諸多市場挑戰,Guess 仍透過數位基礎的強化而持續蓬勃發展,營運也更加穩健而強韌。

閱讀更多內容

閱讀所有參考案例

Guess Emerges Out of the Pandemic Stronger with Centric Planning

Founded 40+ years ago, Guess has grown from a denim pioneer into a global lifestyle brand with over 1,600 retail stores worldwide offering apparel and accessories for men, women and children.

Before COVID, we had a 5.6% operating margin at the end of fiscal year 2020. We closed this past year at 12%. It is a huge improvement in profits! ...If we had had a lot of inventory, we could not have done it. Centric Planning has been an enabler to truly follow our strategy and increase our profitability in a very, very big way. — Daniel Botey, Vice President of Global Inventory Management at Guess Europe Sagl

Challenges

  • Multiple geographies, product assortments and distribution channels
  • Excessive markdowns
  • Degenerating product margins due to supply chain disruption and higher costs
  • Stressed and demotivated teams
  • Moving product between channels was slow and inefficient

Results

  • Plans adapted by country, resulting in assortments that meet local needs and market trends
  • Contributed to doubling operating margins from 5.6% to 12%
  • Shortened retail planning from 1 month to 1 week
  • Greater agility and flexibility to better serve customers
  • One single source of truth for all product data, available anywhere, anytime
  • Talent retained by removing previously frustrating work processes and tools

“This solution has completely changed our lives.” Daniel Botey, Vice President of Global Inventory Management at Guess Europe Sagl, describes his feelings about Centric Planning, the innovative cloud-native solution embedded with omnichannel retail & wholesale planning best-practices.

Prior to COVID-19, iconic clothing and accessories brand Guess had already started thinking about jumping to a next-generation planning solution. As a large, worldwide company with significant retail and wholesale businesses and a complex product range, Guess had thousands of products and SKUs housed in a myriad of spreadsheets, long manufacturing lead times and difficulty meeting merchandisers’ demands.

With the sudden changes imposed by the pandemic and rolling lockdowns, teams became more frustrated and stressed. Worst of all, consumers weren’t always able to find the products they sought in stores or online. Life behind the scenes—as at many retailers big and small—became even more frenetic in the instability of the time, with the impact still being felt today. How did Guess come out of the pandemic stronger than ever before?

A Courageous Move in Turbulent Times

Just prior to COVID, Guess had rolled out a new strategy aimed at increasing operating margins—sparked by the desire to elevate brand quality, reduce promotional activity, react more quickly to market disruptions and, most importantly, put the consumer front and center. It was time to find the technology platform to bring it to fruition.

Then, the pandemic hit. Offices shut down, collaboration was difficult and all the previous planning challenges were magnified. With lockdowns and re-openings occurring at different times across countries and regions, sales forecasts fluctuated wildly. Mr. Botey says, “I don’t remember a more challenging time in my life, honestly. It was really difficult for us. I had a conversation with our CEO, Carlos Alberini to ask for his support to move ahead with the planning project that of course, had been put on hold because of the pandemic.”

The world didn’t know what to expect and justifiably, companies were cautious. Guess had the foresight to stay the course at a time when uncertainty reigned. Mr. Botey continues, “Carlos was really supportive and understood that our need for a tool was even more urgent under the circumstances. So we revived the project during the first lockdown.”

Guess took the leap and the results were nothing short of amazing. “Before COVID, we had a 5.6% operating margin at the end of fiscal year 2020. We closed this past year at 12%. It is a huge improvement in profits!” Mr. Botey brings up a chart. “You can see an increase of 250 basis points due to lower promotional activities alone.” Granted, this was due to being able to carry out their pre-pandemic game plan, but Botey points out, “If we had had a lot of inventory, we could not have done it. Centric Planning has been an enabler to truly follow our strategy and increase our profitability in a very, very big way.”

Stay Consumer-Centric: Get the Right Products in the Right Places at the Right Time

Guess has 25 product categories in over 100 countries with roughly 1000 directly operated stores worldwide and 1600 stores in total. Guess operates an omnichannel business model, selling via multiple touchpoints such as e-commerce, retail and, particularly important in Europe, wholesale where Guess maintains a network of around 4,000 wholesale customers.

The company was using Excel sheets to conduct buying and merchandising. Mr. Botey says, “We are working in about 30 countries in Europe. The merchandisers would each provide an Excel sheet in different formats, listing the products that they want and those that are not that relevant in their country or market. This was a painful process because it was very time consuming for the merchandisers, but also for the buyers here, to compile all this information to try and cover the needs of the markets.”

The team was working on very large and intricate spreadsheets. Mr. Botey explains, “We have 8,000 SKUs per collection with 4 collections a year. We had to divide up our teams and files by category of product because we couldn’t manage all the SKUs in one place. So we had several Excel sheets—of course, not connected or synchronized—and everybody was working on only a part of the whole. That was on the planning side. Our management team and key business executives needed a high-level overview of the situation but couldn’t get it with the existing process. A spreadsheet based program was no longer powerful enough to handle the sheer amount of complexity and information.”

Mr. Botey notes, “We needed a planning tool to have everything in one place and to get alternate views of the same picture. We deal with different currencies, different customer tastes, different trends by country. Having all the geographical variables plus the wide assortment and number of SKUs made the life of the planners here very, very tough.”

Guess took decisive measures, devising an ambitious new business model that tackled expanding operating margin in a four-pronged approach: product cost, brand elevation, occupancy and operational efficiency. To achieve those goals, Guess aimed to respond more quickly to marketplace disruptions, move premium product lines onshore, reduce overstock and discounting based on fluidly managing inventory, and increase margins.

Technology Lends a Helping Hand

The temporary store closures and re-openings made it impossible for teams to follow original forecast plans. Outdated systems blocked them from seamlessly moving inventory from one channel to another, at a time when e-commerce was booming.

Before Centric Planning, talented planners and entire teams were overworked, tired, at the boiling point. Mr. Botey reflects, “Some people on my team were very frustrated with spending hours in front of an Excel sheet instead of analyzing and making decisions. We brought them in on the planning project, and once they saw the vision they were really engaged. Now, they are part of the project and really excited about it!”

Supply Chain Challenges Endure

Pandemic supply chain issues have since exacerbated existing concerns. Mr. Botey comments, “Our buying time has been shortened. Now, our supply chain team is asking us to issue the POs in advance to allot more time to production and transportation. Without Centric Planning our jobs would be impossible today. It is an enabler for us to get the product to the right channels on time. This is huge for us. The feedback from all the users is really positive; they like the tool. It’s very intuitive.”

Mr. Botey continues, “We’re still in a pandemic; that has really affected our foot traffic and our store sales. E-commerce is still performing extremely well. With Centric Planning, we’ve been able to move inventory from our brick and mortar stores to e-commerce where it is needed.”

He describes the typical practice of end-of-season sales used to clear inventories for the next season. “This is one of the biggest [negative] impacts on our margins. With Centric Planning, we can limit the promotional activity which translates directly into higher margins.”

Without Centric Planning our jobs would be impossible today. It is an enabler for us to get the product to the right channels on time. This is huge for us. The feedback from all the users is really positive; they like the tool. It’s very intuitive.

The New Guess Strategy Pays Off For All

Interestingly, when asked if the goals of the planning project were to reduce planning time and workload, Mr. Botey responds, “Our goals are more strategic: to adapt to our customer needs, to react swiftly to market disruptions.” He quickly follows that up with acknowledging, “But of course, we appreciate the upsides to implementing the planning tool, like manual workload reduction and a drastic decrease in planning time, down from a month to one week.” Other benefits are easily updating range or assortment planning all the way up the merchandise plan, and having local country managers work directly within the solution to select their preferred collections.

Another not-to-be-overlooked benefit is satisfied employees. Mr. Botey shares, “The mood of our people is so much better now because we have removed much of the stress from their shoulders. As you know, employees these days are jumping from one company to another and a happy team is more committed, more motivated. It is at least as important as achieving better financial results. Our consumers are happier because they are able to find the product they need in their stores or online due to better visibility and increased agility on our part.”

Production costs have improved because Guess consolidated product development for all regions into one single line. Mr. Botey says, “This brings efficiency. Without a planning system it would have been extremely difficult to achieve.”

Mr. Botey has words of praise for the Centric team. “They are not just software vendors but expert planners who speak our language. The project management is seamless and set the tone of positive partnership from day one.”

Customer-Driven Innovation

Characteristic of Centric’s customer-driven way of working, Guess has already placed their stamp on the solution. Mr. Botey explains, “During the project we realized that there was the opportunity to do the initial allocation in the tool as well. So together with my planning team, Centric configured a new Allocation module. It incorporates our needs in this area allowing us to skip a step that was previously done in a separate program, further driving efficiency into the workflow.”

By having the right strategy, the right talent, the fortitude to make the right decisions, combined with the right technology, Guess was able to pull off something extraordinary during a time where many in the same industry were floundering. Strengthening their digital foundation enables Guess to thrive and become more formidable and resilient, even during challenging market conditions.

Centric Planning transforms planning and execution to boost performance. Learn how in just 60 minutes.

Request a Demo

Read more

View all references