Wicked Kitchen 借重 Centric PLM 火速提升上市效率

簡便調理純素食品牌 Wicked Kitchen 選用 Centric PLM 提高產品開發效率。

Centric PLM 是我們用來儲存所有資訊的系統;對我們來說,上市速度是一切的關鍵,在產品創新方面尤其重要,從而確保所有零售通路都能推陳出新。 — Jess Kolko, Wicked Kitchen 註冊營養師暨品質協理

挑戰

  • 各種新品迅速推出難以即時掌握
  • 所有資料只能以試算表及 PDF 檔儲存
  • 資料存取難度高障礙多
  • 資訊交流欠缺效率
  • 資料處理與法規落實流程欠明確

結果

  • 工作流程更有效率
  • 同時存取所有產品資料的單一樞紐
  • 可供追蹤數千筆供應商文件
  • 更有效掌握利潤目標

尋找值得信賴的系統

「原本我們是用 Teams 跟試算表管理一切,但過往經驗告訴我,一旦開始把資料存進去,系統就會逐漸變得低效難用、雜亂遲緩。」

Wicked Kitchen 註冊營養師暨品質協理 Jess Kolko 說明了公司開發產品的情況,該公司的美國事業據點位於明尼蘇達州的明尼亞波利斯市。「從人員方面來看,我們著實是一間小公司,但在英國我們所推出的產品種類則超過了 140 種。目前我們暫時無法在美國供應所有的產品,不過,為了管理所有資訊,我們需要值得信賴的單一系統,才能儲存所有資訊。」 如今,不同部門皆能順利取得所需資訊,溝通流暢,效率也進而大幅提升。他們究竟是如何改善工作流程的?

令人驚豔的開端

Wicked Kitchen 創立於 2018 年,創辦人是一對兄弟檔 Derek 和 Chad Sarno,同時兼任行政主廚,兩人的雄心壯志在於鼓勵更多民眾多吃蔬食。這也傳達了他們核心理念:多吃蔬食不但有益人體健康,更能守護地球生態,從而造福全人類與萬物;除了追求健康,他們所設計的產品對於滋味與口感尤有堅持,不容妥協。回顧疫情之前的 2019 年,Wicked 締造了重大里程碑,在 Tesco 超市販賣僅 16 個月,就順利銷出 1000 萬份植物性食品;如此壯舉更一併帶動 Tesco 成為植物性食品的零售市場領袖。2021 年,Wicked 首次在美國推展業務,在全美的Sprouts Farmers Market 及 Kroger 超市上架,此外尚有其他小型零售商透過倉儲採購其產品。Kolko 表示:「我們在美國建立自己的公司,立志成為全球最知名的素食企業。」

機不可失

由於產品陣容大多參照英國本土的既有項目,美國業務方面的產品開發非常迅速。不過,最初的 SKU、配方、包裝、法規、餐飲業標示要求及認證,都得另行根據美國規範再做調整。Kolko 說:「我們不到六個月就推出了 25 項 SKU!」 僅僅 16 個月的光陰,就在英國順利銷出 1000 萬份產品,這對於未來的美國業績確實也是好兆頭;只要餐飲業的產品趨勢不變,美國消費民眾勢必也會搶著購買 Wicked Kitchen 美味可口的素食餐點。Wicked 的定位恰好位於消費者需求最前端,因應持續變動的市場,開發全新食品。

此外 Wicked 也已經體認,必須具備卓越的資料管理,才能跟上快速變動的步調。「目前大量資訊散落於各種不同位置、由不同人員管理,但有時後資訊的更新速度不如我們所需那樣快速,甚或只有其中一處真正更新完成,並非所有位置同步更新,」Kolko 說道:「我很希望一開始就能獲得出色而全面的 PLM 協助,實現更為快速順遂的事業成長,確保資料格式都能輕鬆查閱、便捷檢索、所有同仁都能即刻存取,如此一來,我就不必再辛苦扮演所有資訊的唯一守門人;期盼企業內的所有同仁都能利用單一資料源,順利交流各種資訊。」

全能解決方案

Centric PLM 固然提供了先進的成分管理解決方案,但其用途絕非僅限於此。「處理任何工作,它都能派上用場,從配方、成分、貯存說明到運輸說明,像是產品運輸時該維持在什麼溫度;還有提供美術設計的切割版型,一路到完成包裝,包括所有包裝背面資訊、盒裝資訊、UPC 乃至於所有外箱的 UPC,」Kolko 補充說:「此外還能用來管理與我們共同生產產品的供應商,包含他們的地址、生產工廠以及認證,當然也包括我們的產品認證;PLM 確實涵蓋了我們所有產品的全部資料。」

Kolko 更深入指出:「我們原本有上百筆文件,分別散落於各家供應商,包含所有原物料及規格資訊,都是直接丟在某個團隊資料夾裡,無法跟產品直接連結;各種數據與文件就那樣擺著,無人問津,這點讓我很緊張。於是我們建立了一個項目資料主檔,用一份試算表涵蓋所有項目的資料;後來有些文字被劃上了刪除線,也沒人告訴我劃線是什麼意思,夠搞不懂為什麼有些文字非得用用斜體表示?還有,為什麼這個是用紅色字體記錄,那個卻用藍色標註,也沒人搞得清楚。那份龐大的試算表簡直一片混亂。」

「有了 PLM,我們能把所有資料匯入最實用的系統,輕鬆管理一切;現在我們能將資料與特定產品連結在一起,確保一切有條不紊。」

CENTRIC 實施團隊傾囊相授

談到實施過程,Kolko 表示:「我認為實施過程非常順利,設定配置團隊的人員跟我合作愉快,表現非常出色。有一次,我突然靈感迸發,想到接下來需要再加入一百個屬性欄位,Centric 團隊聽說了,馬上回答:『沒問題,來做吧。』 等到下次會議,他們已經做好了!能與反應迅速,還願意傾聽對方需求的團隊人員合作,真是令人欣喜。我會直接跟他們說:『我不知道要怎麼用你們的專業術語表達自己的需求,所以我只能盡量解釋,給你們一份使用案例情境,然後,請你們幫我釐清這筆資料在系統當中應當如何定位跟貯存比較妥當。』 他們真的非常、非常體貼,幫了好大的忙,面對各種要求都游刃有餘。」

最後 Kolko 形容了最新的近況:「我幾乎弄好了資料母體, 迫不及待想把產品及相關資料匯入,接著,我們會為每樣食品建立成分及營養欄,對此我也是萬分期待。」

展望未來

由於目前正好處於啟動模式,Wicked 正竭力盡快將資料匯入系統。Kolko 表示:「我認為 Centric 會變成不可或缺的工具,協助我們尋找成分採購資源,還有確認供應商採購能力,這對我們而言十分重要。即使我們目前尚未與特定供應商展開合作,北美地區的營運副總裁也開始查看各地工廠,瞭解其能力。我們終於能將所有相關資訊全存於 Centric,查看每一家工廠的生產線後,進一步確認我們最該跟哪一家合作。我認為只要瞭解利潤目標在何處,掌握實現願景的最佳途徑,就能順利致勝。」

就目前的整體經驗來看,Kolko 興奮地說:「我非常高興能跟 Centric 攜手合作,達到現在的成果。這次的合作體驗非常良好,所有人的表現都很出色,成果也無從挑剔。廠商在實作過後,就把一切通通丟給我方處理,任由我們孤軍奮戰的窘境,就連一次也沒有發生過。Centric 團隊服務周到,言出必行,一路都與我們攜手前行。」

閱讀更多內容

閱讀所有參考案例

California

655 Campbell Technology Parkway,
Suite 200
Campbell, CA 95008 USA

Phone: +1 408 574 7802
Fax: 1 408 377 3002

Wicked Kitchen Spices Up Go-To-Market Efficiency with Centric PLM™

Plant-based vegan convenience food company Wicked Kitchen selects Centric PLM to drive efficiency into product development.

Centric PLM is the system where we store all our information. Speed to market is key for us especially on the new product innovation side, because we want to keep fresh with our retailer. — Jess Kolko, Registered Dietitian and Director of Quality at Wicked Kitchen

Challenges

  • Hard to stay on top of fast product launches
  • All data held in spreadsheets and pdfs
  • Difficult to access data
  • Inefficient exchange of information
  • No clear process to handle data & regulations

Results

  • Workflows are more efficient
  • One accessible hub for all product data
  • Ability to track thousands of supplier documents
  • Better understanding of margin targets

Finding a Trustworthy System

“Right now we’re managing everything by Teams and through spreadsheets. From experience, I know that those systems can be unwieldy once you start just dumping data in.”

Registered Dietitian and Director of Quality at Wicked Kitchen, Jess Kolko describes the state of product development at the Minneapolis, Minnesota food company. “We’re such a small company personnel- wise, but we have over 140 products in the UK. For the moment, we don’t have all those available in the US, but in order to manage all of that information, we needed a system that we trust to house all that information.” Today, the different functions have access to the information they need, communication is smooth and efficiency is up. How did they improve their workflows?

A Wicked Start

Wicked Kitchen was founded in 2018 by brothers Derek and Chad Sarno, executive chefs and brothers with a mission to help people to eat more plants. This speaks to their philosophy that eating plants is better for people, better for the planet and all who live on it. But aside from being healthy, they’ve designed their products to be bursting with flavor, texture and taste. Fast forward to 2019 where Wicked reached the 10 million-units-sold milestone of plant- based foods within just 16 months of launching their line at Tesco. This established Tesco as the market leader in plant-based food products. In 2021, Wicked debuted its US business, rolling out nationally in Sprouts Farmers Market and at Kroger stores plus other smaller retailers that purchase the products through warehouses. Says Kolko, “We are forming our own company here in the US and aspire to be the best-known vegan company in the world.”

Not Missing a Beat

Product development for the US business is fast, since it is based on many of the products in the UK. For the initial SKUs, the formulations, packaging, regulatory, food and beverage label requirements and certifications need to be adjusted for the US. Kolko says, “We launched 25 SKUs in just under six months!” The 10 million units of product sold in just 16 months in the UK bodes well for the US business; if food and beverage product trends hold true, US consumers too, will be clamoring for Wicked Kitchen’s delicious, vegan dishes. Wicked has positioned themselves at the forefront of consumer wants, developing new food products for a changing marketplace.

In order to keep up the rapid pace, Wicked knew that they needed excellent data management. “There’s a ton of information that is managed currently in multiple different places and by various different people. And sometimes is not updated as quickly as we need it to be updated, or it’s updated in one place, but not all the other places,” says Kolko. “I really wanted to start us out on the ground floor with a good, comprehensive PLM to help us grow as quickly and successfully as we possibly could, making sure that we have our data in a usable, easy-to-find format that multiple people can access so I’m not just the single gatekeeper of all of this information. We want people to exchange information with one source of truth for the whole company.”

The Everything Solution

Centric PLM serves as an ingredient management solution but it handles so much more than that. “It’s everything from formulation to ingredients to storage instructions, shipping instructions, what temperatures product needs to be kept at when shipped, artwork cutter guides, all the way through to finished packaging, including all of the back-of-pack and case-pack information, the UPCs, all the master case UPCs,” Kolko says. “It’s the supplier, where our products are co-manufactured, their addresses, their production facilities, their certifications, as well as our product certifications. It really is all the data about our products.”

Kolko goes more in depth, “We’ve got hundreds of documents that were floating around for each of our suppliers. All of our raw materials and specifications. And those were just dumped in a Teams folder, unrelated to the product itself. They were just kind of there. That made me nervous. We had an item data master spreadsheet with a section of items that had strike-through text, and I didn’t know what it meant. And I wondered why something is in italics? And why is this one red and this one blue? There was just a mess in a giant spreadsheet.”

With PLM, we can get it all into a system that works and is easy to manage. Now we can actually associate the data to a specific product and make sure that we have all of our ducks in a row.

Centric Implementation Team to the Rescue

Of the implementation, Kolko says, “I thought implementation went really well. The folks on the configuration team did an awesome job working with me. At one point, I had a giant lightbulb go off, and I realized I needed a hundred other attribute fields. The Centric team said, ‘Okay, let’s do it.’ And by the next meeting, they were done! It was pretty awesome to be able to work with folks who were so responsive and willing to listen. I would tell them that ‘I don’t know how to say this in a language that you understand. So I’m just going to talk and give you a use-case scenario. And then you’re going to help me figure out where this data is going to go in the system.’ They are very, very kind and helpful and were fine with that.”

Kolko gives an update, “I’m almost done with data population. I’m super excited to be getting the products and the data in. Then we’ll be building out the ingredients and nutrition panels for each of the food items. I’m pretty excited about that too.”

Looking Forward

Being in launch mode right now, Wicked is trying to import data as quickly as possible. Says Kolko, “I think Centric is going to be a huge tool in terms of us being able to find resources for ingredient sourcing, and supplier capability sourcing which is really important for us to understand. And even if we don’t use a specific supplier right now, our VP of operations for North America is going to start going to different factories and checking out what their capabilities are. We can house all that information in Centric and understand who we want to use after we look at all those factories’ production lines. I think it’s definitely going be a huge win in terms of understanding where we’re going to get our margin targets, and how we’re going to do that.”

Of the overall experience thus far, Kolko enthuses, “I’m super happy with what we’ve done and our partnership with Centric. It’s been a really nice experience. Everyone’s been great—I am really pleased with where we are. I definitely don’t feel like I was just dumped off after implementation and left to fend for myself. The Centric team has been with me all the way.”

Read More

View all references