Aritzia 借重 Centric PLM™ 大幅提升效率與資料品質

「PLM 的單一資料源堪稱典範,確保我們即將上市的所有產品都能借鑑於高品質且值得信賴的資訊來源。」

挑戰

  • 產品組合變動快速,難以掌握
  • 設計師耗費過多時間處理行政事務
  • 跨團隊溝通雜亂無章
  • 使用大量試算表與電子郵件,欠缺效率
  • 手動追蹤樣品,速度緩慢

結果

  • 輕鬆管理龐大的產品組合
  • 設計師獲得更多時間專注於設計
  • 減少試算表
  • 員工士氣高昂且權限充分

更精簡的致勝坦途

Aritzia 產品科技協理 Tim Smith 回顧了採用 Centric PLM 之前遇到哪些困境:「原本我們一概採用 Excel 管理所有的產品開發資料,所以工作環境裡到處都是一堆試算表檔案;展望未來,實在不能再這樣營運下去了,根本沒辦法有效拓展業務。」

公司自創立以來始終穩定成長,近年來成長速度不斷提升,迅猛成長期間,產品開發卻只仰賴電子試算表及電子郵件,是以成效並不亮眼,表現也並不可靠。

如今 Aritzia 可將所有產品資訊集中於一處,全面掌握工作流程及自動化,團隊成員間的溝通也大幅改善。這些成果是如何實現的?

與 Aritzia 並肩成長

產品整合協理 Vanessa Goluboff 說明了公司發展:「Aritzia 在 37 年前創立於加拿大,過去 15 年內,逐漸擴張至美國市場。

我們最早是以獨立精品店起家,販賣品牌的高級服飾及首飾,如今真正發展成垂直整合的設計集團。換句話說,我們從設計、製造到直接於店內銷售予顧客,建立了完整的品牌組合與陣容。」

女性朋友能與 Aritzia 一同成長,盡情挑選品牌提供的適切的服飾及首飾,滿足日常時尚及專業裝扮需求。「我們的理念乃是透過精選展售門市,提供出色的互動服務、精美絕倫的產品,以及令人嚮往的購物體驗,實現顧客期盼的奢華日常。」

「上述所有理念造就了品牌獨特的競爭優勢,對於顧客忠誠度也確實有所提振。」透過形形色色的行銷通路,進行各層面的行銷傳播,比如社群媒體、電子郵件等。

奠定堅實基礎

Aritzia 的目標在於升級產品資料儲存,確保其完整符實,才能在規劃時安心參考並善用資訊。此外,他們希望能減輕設計師的行政工作負擔,將更多時間用於產品創作。Goluboff 表示:「我們秉持嚴謹的態度,開發世界級基礎架構,並著重於品質。

實際上,PLM 實作花了整整三年才大功告成。我們花費足足一年研究比較,充分瞭解 PLM 情勢、當中的關鍵業者及服務方案,同時著手整理公司的完整文件紀錄。這些作業確實協助我們明確圈定範圍,確立各階段策略。」

Aritzia 的挑選過程有條不紊、鉅細靡遺,從各處搜集資訊,相互參照。另外,他們採用階段關卡流程,詳細闡述要求,審視了市面上所有既有工具。他們充分瞭解一切,奠定了堅實的基礎,直至今日仍能作為參考的依據。而在他們發現了 Centric 之後,隨即展開廣泛的廠商示範評選過程。「我們審視每一處小細節,瞭解落差,探索如何運用策略或潛在變革填補落差。」

Aritzia 希望評選的結果足以涵蓋所有基礎需求,因而特意尋求中立而不偏頗的意見。「我們與 Centric 的多家企業客戶聊過之後,真的是收穫良多。」最終 Aritzia 決定選用 Centric PLM。

沉著穩健邁向成功

Aritzia 以穩健的步調,按計畫推動實作,投注一年設計、建立並測試新系統。Goluboff 說:「這一到三年內,我們以同一批人進行作業,就是為了確保連貫性。」而後疫情爆發,恰好在系統預定上線的時機延燒各地。

經營腳步的暫緩,使得他們更專注投入變革管理,為各部門提供特定訓練,並與主題專家合作。Goluboff 表示:「在系統剛上線之時,就有我們的主題專家參與其中,確保這次部署順利圓滿。」

他接著說道:「Centric 系統的可配置性能相當出色,更與我們的企業經營相得益彰,令人極為佩服。」此外秉持精益求精的態度,Aritzia 自系統上線以來,已經完成超過 300 項強化作業。Smith 表示:「這些強化雖然比較沒有具體的投資報酬數字可參考,仍然提供了長期的累進價值。我們希望能盡可能減少各種行政作業負荷,比如修正缺陷,」他接著說:「缺陷的反覆修正,實在沒有價值可言,不該在這方面浪費一絲一毫的寶貴時間。」

相關改良配合使用者的要求而實施,證明了使用者的需求獲得重視,內部的互信妥善鞏固。Smith 表示:「可配置的特性十分重要,容許我們推動、管理及履行公司內部客戶的期待,並且真正推升採用率。」

CENTRIC PLM 釋放潛能

PLM 對於公司各個業務領域都能產生深遠的影響,包含提升整體效率、更貼近消費者、支持永續發展,以及提升不容小覷的員工滿意度。Smith 透露:

PLM 的單一資料源堪稱典範,確保我們所有即將上市的產品都能借鑑於高品質且值得信賴的資訊來源。

在下個階段的計畫中,我們會將資料及規劃工具整合在一起,如此一來,就能洞察先機,據此規劃採購。」由於 Aritzia 具備垂直整合的事業特質,能憑藉獨特管道貼近消費者,店內零售團隊亦能根據自己與顧客互動狀況,針對款式提出有效的意見回饋。

只要有許多人都廣泛反映同一問題,Aritzia 就能迅速修正或微調。「我們立誓維持高品質,這代表產品必須不斷演進、創新及變革,才能更符合顧客需求,」Goluboff 說道:「在官網 aritzia.com 上,你會看到形形色色的產品組合,因為我們希望顧客都能找到專屬產品。」不過,越龐大的產品組合,無疑越會造成產品開發的挑戰,促使 PLM 成為不可或缺的一大助力。

技術造就優異成果

Goluboff 表示:「我們始終重視產品技術路徑圖,確保各種專案都具備明確的起始與截止日期,同時保證團隊成員及儲備人才都能使命必達。」她也提到未來提案勢必以 PLM 及其他技術為中心,並強調必須留任團隊成員,引領各項計畫發展。

「少了技術支援,工作效率就難免低下,讓人提不起勁作業。另外我也認為,如果投入工作足以開創新局面、開發新產品、提高利潤等等,這些都能激勵員工開心投入日常勤務。」值得一提的是,儘管疫情爆發導致門市關閉,衝擊零售業務,Aritzia 仍不曾解僱任何一位零售人員,展現了對於企業、客戶及員工的堅定承諾。

閱讀更多內容

閱讀所有參考案例

Aritzia Increase Efficiency and Data Quality with Centric PLM™

“PLM became that classic single source of the truth, so that we could have a really high quality, highly trusted source of information about all the products that we’re bringing to market.”

Challenges

  • Struggled to keep up with changing assortments
  • Designers spending too much time on administration
  • Disjointed communication between teams
  • Using multiple spreadsheets & emails was inefficient
  • Tracking samples manually was slow

Results

  • Easy to manage large assortments
  • Designers spending more time designing
  • Spreadsheets eliminated
  • Happy, empowered workers

Streamlined Success

Tim Smith, Director of Product Technology, describes the situation at Aritzia before Centric PLM, “We used a lot of Excel, managing all of our product development data in a world of multiple spreadsheets. We just couldn’t continue to operate that way and scale our business efficiently.”

The company has risen steadily since their inception, increasing in pace in recent years. Using spreadsheets and email for product development amid their accelerated growth wasn’t very effective or reliable.

Today, Aritzia has all their product information in one place, their workflows have been captured and automated and communication is improved among the team members. What brought about these results?

Growing with Aritzia

Vanessa Goluboff, Director of Product Integration describes the company. “We started 37 years ago in Canada, expanding into the US within the last 15 years.

What began as a standalone boutique that sold elevated apparel and accessory brands, has really evolved into a vertically-integrated design house. That means that we develop a portfolio of brands that go from design to manufacturing, selling direct to customers in our stores.”

Women can grow up with Aritzia, addressing both their casual fashion and professional needs through apparel and accessories. “We have the concept of offering everyday luxury to our customers through engaging service, beautiful products and aspirational shopping experiences through our carefully curated stores.

We feel like all of this combined is our competitive advantage and really helps to drive customer loyalty. ”Multipronged marketing communication takes place via various marketing channels such as social media, email etc. “We feel like all of this combined is our competitive advantage and really helps to drive customer loyalty.”

A Solid Foundation

One of Aritzia’s goals was to shore up their product data to ensure that it had integrity before they started to plan off of it. They also wanted to empower their designers to spend more time on the products and less time on administrative work. Goluboff says, “We prefer to be meticulous and develop world- class infrastructure as we go, focusing on quality.

We actually took three years to deliver PLM. One year to research and understand the PLM landscape of key players and the service offering, while running in parallel, a complete documentation of our business. Doing these exercises really helped us to nail our scope and our phase-in strategy.”

Aritzia went at the selection methodically and thoroughly, gathering information from different sources and cross- referencing them. They also used a stage gate process, mapping out their requirements and reviewing all their existing tools. They built a solid foundation of understanding that they continue to reference today. Once they had Centric in their sights, it was on to an extensive vendor demo selection process. “It meant going through every single detail to understand where we have a gap and where we would have to infill with strategy or potentially change.”

Wanting to cover all their bases, Aritzia sought out unbiased opinions. “Where we really learned a lot was talking to [Centric] customers.” Ultimately, Aritzia opted for Centric PLM

Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Aritzia continued their calculated pace for implementation, taking a year to design, build and test the system. “That meant from one to three years we had the same people for the purpose of continuity,” says Goluboff. Then COVID hit, right when they were supposed to go live.

Taking a step back allowed them to devote more effort toward change management, providing specific training for each department working with their subject-matter experts. Says Goluboff, “By involving our subject-matter experts, they were so bought into the system at the time of go-live, we were really able to deploy with little resistance.”

Goluboff says, “We’ve just been so impressed with how good Centric comes as a configurable system, how well it matches our business.” But in the spirit of continuous improvement, Aritzia has made 300+ enhancements since go live. Smith remarks, “Enhancements have a less quantifiable ROI, but still deliver incremental value. What you want to minimize is any administrative work like fixing bugs…” He follows that up with, “We aren’t spending any of our time in that lowest-value bucket of fixing bugs.”

The refinements came about through user requests, proving to the users that they are being heard, and building trust. Says Smith, “That configurable nature is just so critical to how we’ve been able to roll out, manage and deliver on our [internal] customers’ expectations, and really drive adoption.”

The Centric PLM Boost

PLM has left its mark on so many areas of the company: overall efficiency, getting closer to the customer, sustainability, and not to be overlooked, employee satisfaction. Smith says,

PLM became that classic single source of the truth, so that we could have a really high quality, highly trusted source of information about all the products that we’re bringing to market.

And then our next phase will be to integrate that data with our planning tools so that we’re able to understand those opportunities and plan purchases accordingly.” Being vertically integrated allows a unique closeness to Aritzia’s customer with strong feedback on the styles from their retail staff, based on what they are seeing in the stores with customers.

If there is a widely experienced issue, Aritzia can course correct. “We’re really committed to quality and that means evolving and innovating and changing products to better meet needs,” says Goluboff. “On aritzia. com, you can see that we have such a wide assortment because we’re trying to find something unique for you.” But larger assortments are obviously more challenging to develop, making PLM essential to aid in that effort.

Technology Makes Work Better

Goluboff says, “One of our focuses has been identifying what our product technology roadmap looks like, ensuring that we have start and finish dates of these projects, ensuring that we build the team and the bench strength to deliver.” She mentions the inevitable future initiatives around PLM and other technologies and the importance of retaining her team members to lead them.

“Without this technology, it becomes inefficient, not as exciting to do your job. And I think that when you’re able to break new ground, take on new products, improve margin… this is all highly rewarding for you as an individual coming to work every day.” It is worth mentioning, that despite the hit that retail businesses took during pandemic closures, Aritzia did not lay off a single retail employee. Such is their commitment to their business, their customers and their people.

Read More

View all references